What is the guidance for mapping and tagging geology and geologic/geomorphic features?

I am a geologist so I am trying to avoid overly technical jargon but need guidance on how to handle the mapping of geologic features, in particular the braidplain in a desert setting (Oman, Salalah region).

In the mountainous regions the intermittent rivers and streams are generally confined and can be easily represented by a line:river or intermittent stream. Once the channel spills out to a broad flat area the channels become highly interwoven and you are faced with either mapping the ever-changing individual channels OR creating an area. area:sand doesn’t really convey the feature and there doesn’t appear to be a tag for braidplain. Is anyone else experienced with how to resolve this?

1 Like

There was a discussion about this sort of thing on the tagging mailing list a while ago:

https://lists.openstreetmap.org/pipermail/tagging/2020-July/054073.html

It veers off topic to talk about manholes a bit before circling back. I’m not sure what the mapper decided to go with in the end, but taginfo/overpass might tell you if any of the suggestions made it into the database.

Most of the discussion seemed to be about waterway=spreads on an end node or area, possibly with the incoming waterway tagged as intermittent.

Thanks for the reply. The discussion did touch on the topic of terminal fans of varying types and how to treat something that “just ends…” It’s not entirely dissimilar to a road that ends in a parking lot. You don’t put a line to each parking space and the lot isn’t always full but the area (in my case braid plain or flood plain) would be an area of intermittent flow. I have used intermittent lake for some streams that fill a small basin and then water disappears between evaporation and absorption leaving behind the basin area.