WMS/WFS service from OSM

Hi,

I’m pretty new to OSM, but so far, what I have seen is very impressive.

I am a Geospatial professional in New Zealand and I would love to be able to showcase OSM through the GI community here. OSM is probably - to coin a “Calsberg” phrase, the best base map of New Zealand currently available.

The single biggest barrier I can see at the moment, is access to the current, live data in real time, direct from OSM itself.
Are there any thoughts on OSM providing a WMS and WFS service for applications to consume?
I have seen across some of the blog entries that this used to be an output - I haven’t managed to find out why it was stopped, but it would be an excellent and very valuable thing to re-start.

I appreicate that I can access the data myself via download and of course I could use tools like OSM to PostgresSQL to replicate OSM into that RDBMA and serve WMS/WFS myself, but that means that I am duplicating data and dependant upon my replication schedule, that could mean that my data is out of date when updates in my AOI occur. I’d much rather be able to consume from the source.

A WMS/WFS service would allow me to connect OSM directly into a tool such as GAIA or even ArcGIS Explorer.

There are a number of WMS services out there using OSM data already, but by using them I am one removed from OSM itself and reliant on the provider making the service available and keeping it up to date. That doesn’t necessarily provide the confidence that some individuals or organisations would need.

I’d be really interested in hearing peoples thoughts on this - I can’t be the only person out there who ca nsee the value of the services approach and just how much more accessible OSM would be if they were provided.

Looking forward to more discussion on this.

Neil

hi, we offer a WMS: http://www.osm-wms.de get more informations right over here: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/WMS
I think we don’t offer a WFS

Hi Neil,