Why this difference in railway data?

I’m new to OSM and Google Earth Pro.

In the Overpass Turbo wizard I entered railway=rail to generate a query for an area on the map I had displayed for Corsica, France. I then exported via Data > KML > Download. I used the same query for a portion of a US state.

When I open the respective KML files in Google Earth Pro, I can edit the resulting railway line in the US state file and its line is displayed as white. But the Corsica file displays the railway line as black (with hatch marks) and is not editable.

Is the difference between the two files because of the way the data was entered in OSM? And is there a different way to get a KML file of Corsica railways so that it can be edited in Google Earth Pro?

1 Like

Hello, Jay! Welcome to OSM’s community forum and thank you for your question.

Take a deep breath, this is little technical-wonky, and peculiar to European rail, North American rail and OSM all together. It has evolved over a decade+ in OSM and largely “settled down,” though it still does confuse many. We have good wiki to describe these, which only get better as the years go on. I recommend reading our rail wiki to discover more detail.

As OSM is first and foremost a database (our primary “thing” is our data, the maps, renderings, pretty drawings, ability to route a bicycle or hike…are all extras which are “bolted on” to the “bare data”). Therefore, since your Data → KML → Download process-pipeline for both the France data and the USA data is essentially identical, it simply must be that it is the data, and slight differences in their form, is what is at issue here.