Why does not my edits update OSM?

Hi,

I am a beginner with this, and I am trying to use OSM as a background layer in QGIS. Thus, I felt I should contribute by adding actual detail, and correcting minor errors.
First I attempted using a GPS and uploading gpx tracks. I then discovered I do not really need the tracks, since there is already a aerial photo / sat background, so I
proceeded using that.

I have spent some time editing, and in the editor I can see my modifications, BUR THEY DONT show up in a plain map, osm displays state as it was before my edits.
So, I enter edit, and voila, the info IS there. How long should it take befor osm actually updates the tiles I have fixed? To me it seems useless to spend time updating
when the info does not get included. I just click the “edit button” so I think I am using ID to edit. Do I have to “publish” my edits somehow?

Gweb

Hi gweb and welcome to OSM!

GPX-tracks:
If you want to upload them, thats still usefull as the background images (Bing sat images in most cases) isnt always correct. It can differ up to several meters or more. So tracks are a good thing. There is a wiki page about uploading them correctly which I am linking to as I never uploaded tracks myself: https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Upload_GPS_tracks

map updates:
Depends a bit on the zoom level and on where/when you look at the map. Normally, your updates show up on the map after a few minutes. Lately, it was a bit longer as we had some style changes which produced a lag in the updates.
If you look at a part of the map, the OSM servers check if there were any updates in the region and if there are, they render the map anew. If that takes to long, you get the old map tiles and the old tiles get rendered once the server has some spare time.

Finally: Yes you are using iD and no you dont have to publish you data. If its saved, then its there.

Happy mapping!