Stop signs, are they of any value?

Hello, I’m new to OSM and just getting to grips with everything.

I just wanted ask about stop/give way signs, and if there is any value in adding them to a map, ie. does the data get used or ingested anywhere helpful?

Thanks.

2 Likes

In theory routing engines can use them to adjust the expected delay at an intersection, but I’m not sure if any actually do.

7 Likes

I think OSMAND will warn you if you are approaching a stop sign (so that you can slow down).

6 Likes

Ask cyclist and yes if they can be avoided it makes sense.

Cheerio John

2 Likes

Routing engines do and those who dont should use that for calculating a delay. As they typically have a delay for right and left turns (different) based on the country you are in (right hand vs left hand driving)

Flo

1 Like

Actually mapping them as nodes on the road instead of signs on the side as I did in the past and add the road_marking tag on top to indicate no, solid_stop_line, stop, give_way. solid_stop line per TagInfo has already found 34K uses

Here IT:II.36 or 37 for signs and stop or give_way for road markings which are nicely graphically shown on JOSM in edit view with a little beam/cone style to show which way they’re pointing

1 Like

Magic Earth even shows stop and yield signs in their app.

3 Likes

Is that a custom paint style showing the cones? I haven’t seen those in JOSM before.

Yes, a real small one just with the cones for stop, yield and traffic_signals (one directional only, not both or 4 ways on a crossing. Style name: orientation for traffic signs… https://gitlab.com/cartocite/josm-style-traffic-signs-orientation/-/raw/main/traffic_sign_orientation_style.zip. Introduced here somewhere on the forums.

2 Likes

There are three different things to distinguish:

• The stopping point is highway=stop on a node along the roadway where the vehicle must come to a stop.