Semi-Automated Tree Additions

Hi all, I’m an intern who is a part of an NGO and as part of that we would like to do some automation changesets around the world identifying trees. All I know is that we need to create a new page on the OSM wiki. Am I on the write track and can you all give me any suggestions or approvals since I also read that I need approval from the community first.

2 Likes

Welcome to OpenStreetMap (OSM)!

If you have not done so already, you should read this:
https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Automated_Edits_code_of_conduct

Automated and semi-automated edits require a high level of skill and a lot of experience. Therefore, you should start by making regular manual edits to OSM to get familiar with the concepts and tools.

9 Likes

Other efforts to do so have not met community standards. I think it is too ambitious to automate this process on a global scale, because:

• available aerial imagery and other sources are too poor in many places,
  • some mappers will oppose it no matter how good it might be,
  • many trees can be better mapped as forest polygons or tree rows,
  • it will be very hard to avoid duplication of data and
  • the import will be out-of-date almost instantly, which creates a lot of work for other mappers who do their best to keep the map up-to-date.
6 Likes

Thanks for the reply. I was thinking the same thing. The thing also is that our advisor/boss is very ambitious and wants to push the capabilities of things. I’ll try discussing it with him.

1 Like

Makes me think of a discussion in one of the community forums. The guy said he had very detailed data taxonomy, species what not but I tuned out.