Question on how to calculate the length of all pedestrain walkways in a city?

Hello! I am new to OSM and am tryng to leverage it to calculate the total length of pedestrian walkways (i.e., footways/sidewalks) within individual cities. I am using OSM wiki to determine which keys I should be using to account for all type of paths (Key:highway - OpenStreetMap Wiki).

The code below show the types of paths I am summing to get the total length of all pedestrians paths in the city. However I am not sure if I am covering all my bases or double counting certain paths. Will the below list of keys get me the total sidewalk length across a city, or should I add/remove any?

way["footway"=sidewalk](area.a);
        way["sidewalk"=both](area.a);
        way["sidewalk"=left](area.a);
        way["sidewalk"=right](area.a);
        way["footway"=crossing](area.a);
        way["footway"=traffic_island](area.a);
        way["footway"=alley](area.a);
        way["footway"=residential](area.a);
        way["highway"=footway](area.a);
        way["highway"=pedestrian](area.a);

Thanks in advance!
-Kuba

1 Like

There is going to be some overlap between footway=sidewalk and highway=footway, as footway=sidewalk is a subset of highway=footway.

if sidewalk=both you probably should count the distance twice as this means that there are sidewalks on both sides of a street.

It depends on what you consider a “pedestrian walkway”, but you might include (highway=path, foot=designated) or simply highway=path.

Yes, in fact, any way with footway=* set to anything will already have highway=footway, so you’re already including all of them by looking for highway=footway. You’d still need to look for sidewalk=* explicitly because those are tagged on roadways, such as highway=residential.

Some assorted notes: