Missing information / Katasteramt (Germany)

I am fairly new to osm contribution so please forgive me my ignorance.

I am using streetcomplete in order to provide information. A lot of missing information is the street width, type of house, etc. Or each fire department must know the diameter of the hydrants but they are missing on the maps. Shouldn’t all this information be already available and (publicly) accessible? Probably even in a simple database so that everything could be mapped very easily.

This sounds so easy that there must be a problem with it. Is it the licensing?

I can’t answer for your city or Germany, but on a worldwide scale, all of the following factors make mapping from public sources much more complicated than you suggest:

• The data is simply not available to the public. Historically that has been a very common situation.
  • The data is available, but not in a format that can easily be used for mapping (e.g. you might be able to access Cadastral records for one property at a time, but not as a mass query).
  • The data can be accessed by the public, but is not available under a license suitable for OSM (note that OSM can be used commercially, for example, so any data we use must allow commercial use).
  • A related problem: it may not be clear what license applies to the data, and it may be difficult to find somebody in the relevant official body with the authority to confirm that it can be used.