Mapping a cemetery...

I’m working on a mapping project for a cemetery where individual features will be located with GNSS-RTK (high res GPS) and placed on a digital map. A lot of the leg-work will be done by volunteers through a number of Eagle Scout projects. I was considering using Google Maps but it seems it is limited to 6 decimal places on GPS coordinates and I need 7 decimal places for 1 cm level resolution. Now I’m looking at OSM to see if this can be done. I’m fairly new to OSM but have done a few edits in the past.

Can OSM be used in this way to draw on a map? Can GPS nodes be imported. Is it possible to use layering? Can items that are drawn be kept private and/or stored locally. I’m not opposed to setting up a server for… custom tiles or whatever it is called, or writing custom software from the GPS interface to get it into whatever format is needed. I’m guessing that OSM would not want this level of detail on the public map, although I’m not opposed to making it public. I wouldn’t want people to be able to edit the data. Are there third party apps that would be better for this?

Thanks for any advice.

Hi and welcome to OSM and the forum

You should take a look at https://umap.openstreetmap.fr/en/

I don’t have any additional insight on how to use the OSM tools other than the uMap suggestion above.

I was curious about cemeteries in general: as RTK GPS becomes more widely used, it would seem that individual markers could be mapped in publicly accessible cemeteries. However the Wiki explicitly discourages this except for notable graves.

I’ve been toying with the idea to map a cemetary to the individual grave. It can certainly have a use-case. Searchable index of graves with occupants and their data and a photo.
But it is the question if you want that in OSM or not.