Landuse/landcover in Patagonia

Apologies for posting in English.

I have just been doing edits from my journeys through Patagonia after State of the Map, and am somewhat dismayed by the presence of large polygons which bear little or no resemblance to what can be seen on the ground. I am aware that some of these are discussed in other threads, but for convenience I have noted my major issues with what is currently mapped here.

There seem to be three major classes of polygons which at best have incorrect tagging on them:

• **Woods. **Major river valleys tagged as natural=wood. A single polygon encompasses some 100s of kilometers of the basin of the Río Coig and another the Rio Belgrano. I imagine these were created from satellite imagery in the mistaken belief that greener areas are woods. There is also another amorphous polygon of natural=wood around Sarmiento, Chubut, and probably others which I have not come across. I am in the process of adding Mapillary sequences between El Calafate and Rio Gallegos which show clearly that there are no woods in this area. These polygons are anyway far too large for sensible mapping and create problems with on-line editors.