How do I find potholes in roads in Los Angeles, California?

I am a beginner and hope that I can find some information about roads in Los Angeles California. I am trying to determine the impact of bad roads on automobiles. I am looking for any kind of information such as potholes, roughness etc. I was hoping that this information could be added to maps in OpenStreetMap.
Many thanks.

2 Likes

There are tags for (at least):

5 Likes

& here is a search for smoothness=bad in LA: overpass turbo.

Simply repeat it for the other levels of “unsmoothness” :grinning:

Edit to set search to run.

3 Likes

Hi, and welcome to OpenStreetMap! I agree with the other posters above that the information you seek is contained in the smoothness tag. As a Los Angeles local, I can say that very few urban streets in the area currently have any smoothness details tagged on them at all. Fizzie41’s overpass turbo queries above indicate that most ways with smoothness=intermediate or worse in the area are actually either footpaths or fire roads in the mountains, not the poorly paved streets I think you have in mind.

Of course, you’re welcome to add smoothness values to roads you know about/observe, so in that sense OpenStreetMap is an appropriate place to catalog how potholed a road is, if that’s what you’re interested in!

4 Likes

So you guys have somebody who updates those values when the roads are patched up? Seems like a full time job there.

it is either a full time job or work for an army of ants who occassionally push a button while moving around. Choose which