How do features get rendered?

Hi. I’m new to openstreetmap and flogging through, trying to understand how it works. I’m interested in adding ecological data on the form of JNCC phase 1 data. There is already a proposal to do this.

What I’m wondering is, how does the openstreetmap know how to render stuff? Does the openstreetmap.org website only render pre-defined feature types? What I want to do is generate a phase 1 layer. My question is, does osm hold information on how the features are rendered, and is there a web page or application that can render my data, or do I need to write software to pull the phase 1 information from osm and render it (either on a web or desktop app) in accordance with the JNCC colour/pattern definitions?

Many thanks for any advice.

David Wallis

Features on the map are pre-rendered, but there are no rendering instructions in OSM (it would defeat the point).

To render something like Phase 1 data you would need to create your own rendering rules: I actually have a set of phase 1 (woodland only) style sheets for QGIS, but for more generic work I would probably choose to use TileMill. QGIS is better as a place to start, but Maperitive is the easiest to use if you want to render directly from an OSM file. (Most approaches involve loading a transformed set of OSM data into a Postgres database).

As an aside, I would avoid, or at least refine the JNCC format as it is very dated and reflects technology constraints of about 25-30 years ago: the letters used as symbols can these days be replaced by much better symbology. Phase 1 is relatively small and requires only a small number of rendering rules.

The existing ideas about tagging habitats (strictly biomes) (e.g., tags for habitat and plant_community) work, but aren’t truly integrated into the overall OSM tagging scheme. The more people who wish to add things like Phase 1 data, the more likely we are to refine it.