GPS trace upload delay

Hello,

I was wondering if there was an issue with the upload of GPS traces on the openstreetmap.org website, using the “GPS traces” > “Upload a trace” button. I have been uploading my traces for a few years (so I can update the map) and it usually took just a couple of minutes.

Since a few days ago (I first noticed when I uploaded on Wednesday October 11th), it takes a very long time: ~30 min. I am currently uploading a trace and it has been more than 40 min already.

Looking at the “All Traces” tab, there is a very large number of pending uploads (almost all of them) of the types:
Routes from sunnypilot 0.9.4.1-release (TOYOTA RAV4 HYBRID 2022).
Or:
Routes from dragonpilot (HONDA CR-V 2017).

It was already the case when I first noticed the issue. But not sure if it is related.

Am I the only one with this upload issue?

Hello,

sunnypilot, see here in github and dragonpilot, here are both forks of openpilot. It is unclear whether the users of both of those pieces of software know that they are uploading to OSM.

Personally, I’m not convinced that the data from these sources is in any way valuable - it’s just repeated trips up and down the same (by now very well mapped) major roads.

If the consensus among OSM mappers is that this data is not valuable, then the DWG could at the very least bring these software developers into a discussion with the rest of the OSM community, although we haven’t yet had a request to explicitly do this**, as far as I’m aware.

I’d suggest that these forums were the best place for OSM mappers to discuss whether they find these uploads valuable.

– Andy (from the DWG, but opinions here are my personal ones only)

** we have had one query about how to do something slightly different.

Edit: See this bug for sunnypilot.