Garmin maps segment/tile numbering (garmin.openstreetmap.nl)

Dear all,

as I am quite new to OSM, first I would like to thank all the people who make the OSM maps and everything related to them possible.
I started to contribute by updating my neighbourhood in OSM.

Planning a bike trip across Europe this summer I downloaded the predefined country versions of several maps from garmin.openstreetmap.nl.
Installation and use in Mapsource is fine and I created a custom TYP for better looks on my 60CSx.

The problem I have is that the segment numbers of the tiles are reused in different maps (i.e. OSM Generic Routable (63420949)).
This creates a problem as Mapsource will only recognize the first selected (i.e. from NL) and will ignore others with the same name/number when creating a map set.

I couldn’t find a quick fix to change the tile numbers.

Would it be possible to have unique tile numbers and perhaps even map related names (i.e. OSM NL Routable) for the predefined country maps?

Please forgive me if I have missed something :wink:

Kind regrads,
Chris

btw, JaVaWa is also complaining about the numbers reused in different maps, but can’t fix it …

You can try my Openfietsmap Europe, it is a little out of date, have to upload a new version sooner or later.
http://www.openfietsmap.nl/downloads/europe

Or else, you can assemble a new map with mkgmap and all the tiles you need. I have a windows batch script for this: http://www.openfietsmap.nl/downloads/osm_combi

Thank you for the tip Ligfietser.

Unfortunately all the downloadlinks on the page return an error 500 at the moment.
Let’s hope for Google to fix it …

Chris

Yes, I see that this error page pops up only if you are not logged in (normally you dont have to), maybe Google changed their policy and only users can download stuff or maybe its a bug?

Seems Google fixed the download error now

Sorry for resurecting this thread.

I’ve come across the same error, but I need some clarification here…