Duplicate key -- correctable?

I’m new to postgres/postgis (I’m comfortable with mariadb/mysql, but they’re based on very different human-factors criteria). Trying to load US regions, osm2pgsql 0.81 stumbled over a duplicate key in ways_pkey and gave up. Is this correctable by me, and if so how?

There is nothing Postgresql specific happening here. The primary key of the table is ways_pkey and the same feature obviously comes with two separate US regional files. Loading the latter fails because of breaking the primary key constraint.
Your alternatives are to clean the dublicates of the same features from the region datasets (but I do not know how to do it) or import datasets into separate tables with different prefixes and combine data later in Postgresql. Or then you can use the North American data file which should not contain dublicate features http://download.geofabrik.de/north-america-latest.osm.bz2.

Thanks for your prompt response.

I think what I was perhaps really trying to ask (I shouldn’t try to make sense when I’m tired) is whether there’s some way to keep osm2pgsql from throwing up its hands and quitting when it can’t store a dupe record. From a HF standpoint, that’s rather awful behavior.

Slurping up North Am is a fallback possibility, but also represents a lot of work since I don’t want Canada and certainly don’t want Greenland (which is less part of logical North America than Mexico is)

I would try to push the North American data through osmosis by using the USA polygon for filtering http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis