Comment Rate Limit

Hello all,

There has been a recent influx of new users in my area and I am trying to point them toward resources and give feedback on their changesets (as some have flagged them as requesting feedback,) but I have run into a rate limit. I cannot find documentation of this anywhere, could anyone tell me how long I should be waiting between comments? Or is there a way to have this rate limit removed from my account?

1 Like

You can find limitations for the API here, and for commenting, the limits are listed here. In the sources, you’ll also find information on when limits may be increased.

3 Likes

Thank you for the links. Unfortunately I am not a coder, so I can’t quite parse when the increase might apply.

At the rate of 6 per hour, it will likely take me all day to comment on all these users changesets. In the meantime, they are continuing to edit using the wrong imagery offset. A bit of a frustrating situation. :frowning:

I don’t know ruby, but if I understand the code correctly you should now be at 8 comments per hour (using the great tools of @pitscheplatsch at https://resultmaps.neis-one.org/).

One week with 25 comments per day should get you to the maximum of 60 comments per hour.

1 Like

If you share the changesets that are of concern, the rest of the community may be able to comment on them.

There is unlikely a single correct imagery offset for a given area of any size. The necessary offset can vary by moving just a few hundred meters in any direction, especially if the area has high relief. In addition, many of the imagery sources available in OSM are mosaics, with different parts collected from different angles, which impact the offset. Finally, sources are updated occasionally, and each update is likely to have a different offset from “truth”.

We have had the average offset calculated by the local Geodesie and it is a standard listed on our wiki page: Montréal - OpenStreetMap Wiki

1 Like