Classifying an object: `man_made=street_cabinet` vs `building=service`

Hello everyone,

I have a question regarding the classification of the object in the picture.

I would like to know if it is correct to classify it at the very minimum as:

man_made=street_cabinet
utility=power
operator=<NAME>
ref=<XXX>

My main concern is with the man_made=street_cabinet tag. I have come across similar “cabinets” that were tagged as building=service, but in my opinion, they don’t resemble buildings. However, I must admit that this particular object is a bit large for a cabinet as well, but it still doesn’t qualify as a building.

Additional Tags

Furthermore, I’m considering the possibility of including the following additional tags:

power=substation
substation=minor_distribution

However, I’m not an expert in street electric equipment, so I cannot confirm the suitability of the last two tags.

Node vs Area

The wiki suggests mapping street cabinets as nodes, and if they are sufficiently large, mapping them as areas. In this case, I believe that the object in question is large enough to be mapped as an area. Can anyone confirm this?

Thank you in advance!

If the street cabinet in question is not made to be entered, then I wouldn’t tag it as a building. If there’s a door, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you enter this thing. Looks like a street cabinet to me, we have some like this over here as well, though I’ve never seen them made out of concrete as this one.

If your satellite imagery allows you to precisely determine a surrounding way, then by all means, map it as a way :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you, @Nadjita , for such a detailed response!