Can the user be removed from share links by default?

I’ve just tried to share a link, and the shareable link Discource gave me was https://community.openstreetmap.org/t/official-statement-by-open-street-map-moderator/1054/4?u=someoneelse. In the context that I wanted to use it, the fact that that link included my userid wasn’t a problem, but I’d imagine that in most contexts it absolutely would.

Can the user be removed from share links by default?

6 Likes

It seems this is being discussed upstream:

5 Likes

It seems that a setting to switch this off will be available in the next Discourse version (2.9) :partying_face:

1 Like

This is already implemented in the beta version

Once 2.9 moves to stable we will be able to remove it.

We’ve since rolled out the Discourse version which introduced the ability to disable this behavior at a site level. Seeing how this appears to be the consensus solution, I’ve now disabled the “allow username in share links” setting in the admin panel. The username will therefore no longer be included in the URLs generated by the “share” button.

5 Likes