Best Practices Questions

To begin, I recently started editing OpenStreetMap (although I have extensive experience with other collaborative projects like Wikipedia) and I have a few questions regarding best practices:

How should building numbers be added?

I ask because one of my areas of focus has been buildings on military bases and, to the best of my knowledge, most of them are simply referred to as “Building XXX”. I presume this information should normally be placed in the “addr:housenumber” tag, but if it is the only name for a building, it seems like it should go in the “common name” tag. However, this is complicated by the fact that some buildings do have more proper names. (e.g. base map) The problem is then that if the buildings with proper names are named as such and the ones without them are simply “Building XXX”, then the naming scheme is inconsistent. One format I considered was “Building XXX – [Proper Name]”, but that seemed to be less than ideal as it involved putting two different concepts under one tag.

Should buildings be named for the building or the owner/operator?

This is sort of the same issue as above, but in a slightly different way. A similar situation often arises at airports where each hangar has a number assigned by the airport, but is known by the business that occupies it. (e.g. Lunken Airport Airport Layout Plan showing both hangar numbers on map and owner/operators in table at top of page)

How should individual buildings within a location be named and mapped?

Another area of focus of mine is aviation museums. Many museums have multiple hangars with individual names. (e.g. Museum of Aviation campus map) However, as above, if the hangar name is added, then it would preclude the inclusion of the museum name. I presume that the the way it should be handled then is each building named with its individual name and an area drawn to encompass the whole museum campus that is named for the museum.