Bad Langugage Example

I’m a Informatic student whos developing a tool for detection of bad language use when someone create or edit a name of a location. For that reason, I’m asking if there are some good examples of this to implement a prevention against it. If this were already discussed, I’m sorry and would love to follow a suggested link.

Look at OSMCha list of bad words:

and

What would you describe as “bad language use”?

A village in Austria renamed itself to “Fugging” formerly written with ‘gg’ replaced by ‘ck’.

Would you prevent mappers naming a village with its real name just because the name is “bad language use” in a different language?

1 Like

Or placenames in the local language.

Most have probably aware of the Scunthorpe Problem but there are many more in the UK https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scunthorpe_problem

2 Likes

Yes very hard to automatically filter out bad words that shouldn’t be in OSM from bad words that should be in OSM. See:
https://www.reddit.com/r/CasualUK/comments/omeq85/perfect_road_trip_doesnt_exi_all_names_are_real/

Another challenge is that there are many words that aren’t inherently bad, but in certain contexts they may be. For example, due to its Dutch heritage, New York State has many rivers named “-kill” and many places named after those rivers. Sometimes changeset comments mentioning these places have gotten misidentified as somehow condoning violence.

Conversely, someone once deleted a hamlet named Coonville out of an assumption that it was a racial slur. That exact name has appeared on places elsewhere in the country as a racial slur, but as far as I can tell, this particular instance was named after the Raccoon Creek that runs past it.