A road that isn't a road, or is it? or is it a place?

Hi,

I am new to OpenStreetMap and also new to the property I live in.

It is here (see the block of buildings and the car park to the right):

http://www.openstreetmap.org/edit#map=18/51.87005/0.67385

This was until 2005 all a single property with an address on West Street, the main west-east road you can see.

It was then converted into flats and given the name “Isinglass Mews”.

The address is formatted as:

Flat X, Isinglass Mews,
West Street, Coggeshall,
Colchester,
Essex

So it seems historically Isinglass Mews should be treated as a place, but many might imagine that it is a cul-de-sac.

I would like to add it to the map to make it easier to find, and I think if I add a small stub-road with the name Isinglass Mews at the beginning of the car park entrance, this would serve the purpose. But at the same time I don’t want to contribute to a “corruption” of the OpenStreetMap by adding roads that aren’t technically roads.

What do you think?

Should I have posted in the UK users forum?

Hi and welcome to OSM

Difficult question… My first thought was to use addr:housename but I don’t know if and how OSM-Applications will evealuate this key for a search or routing. As the wiki mentions that it is common (that houses without housenumber but with a name exists) in the UK this realy might be a specific question for the UK-Forum. Note that there are also Mailinglists where you can post your question(s).

The UK section of this forum is not very active. The Talk-GB mailing list is a bit busier, so maybe better to ask there.

As for the question, this can be a fairly common thing in the UK, and there can be a few different ways of tagging/mapping this. I think it depends on how the address is used, and how it is signposted.
If it is just a single building (with multiple flats within it), then I would probably tag the building with addr:housename. eg addr:housename=Isinglass Mews, addr:street=West Street