Which is the preferred resource: Mapillary, or OpenStreetCam?

Hi folks,

OSM is great, the more I learn the more I’m excited by it. I’m just recently getting more interested in contributing to OSM, and thought that likewise contributing to one of the imaging projects (OSC or Mapillary) might be useful. I’ve tried them both but haven’t decided which imaging project to stick with.

When y’all are editing OSM based on contributed images, do you tend to prefer one service over the other?

I’ve reviewed a few foreign-language topics regarding Mapillary vs. OSC13 but still couldn’t answer this question since I’m pretty new to actually making edits in OSM based off of imagery, using iD with plugins, etc… Those threads mostly seem to deal with issues around the image generation & legal side of the two imaging projects, not the outputs and cartography side. I wanted to get a practical sense of where my images would be the most useful.

Thanks,
Nick

I wonder the same - for me the images looks better on OpenStreetCam but it might be that I was more lucky with people filming with actual cameras vs smartphone.

Also, obviously some places are covered only with one of them so you don’t have much choice.

Just some observations that I’ll fine tune as I learn more (read: record more street-level imagery) but here are some quick pros & cons from the content generation perspective. I’m currently tied to an Apple iPhone so all my experience is based on that. Here goes:

/ prefixes an observation that is subjectively neither better or worse that the competition

• prefixes an observation that is subjectively better than the competition
  • prefixes an observation that is subjectively worse that the competition

Both:
/ Seem to have the same content license, although I did not try to download any of my original images in bulk
/ Seem to offer scripted uploading from image sources outside of the app