What to do if GPS traces are misaligned. Do I adjust satellite image?

Hi OSM Community:

I’m a bit of a newbie, but I’ve started recording and uploading GPS traces using my ipad and the track-kit app. What I have found is the gps traces are generally accurate but overall it appears they are misaligned to both the map data and the Bing satellite imagery.

Here is an example:
http://www.openstreetmap.org/edit?gpx=1976942#map=16/-1.9527/30.0862
I am using a large traffic circle as a reference to calibrate my gps trace. You can see that the gps is not only misaligned from the satellite image, but more importantly, the OSM map data is also off.

**What should change? (if anything) **

Option 1: Adjust the satellite background image. I am nervous about adjusting the satellite background to the map data since it may make all the data misaligned if it is incorrect. (is there a wiki article about the do’s and don’ts of adjusting the satellite background images before adding new map data?). In this case, adjusting the satellite does not reconcile the gps to the map data.

Option 2: Start changing the map data. I am willing to start ‘fine tuning’ the map data based on the gps readings, but given that an ipad gps reading may not be entirely accurate, I am just not sure if I am helping or if I would be making a mess of the OSM data.

I’ve checked the wiki and it talks about the accurace of gps readings, but I haven’t found specific instructions about interpreting my own gps readings and using that data responsibly for map editing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

You can align Bing images, but I wouldn’t do that with just one trace. Turn on the GPS layer under the background settings in iD. When others have uploaded their traces for this area they should become visible. Then you can align the Bing images based on multiple traces.