Urgent : Implementation Details

Hi,

I am new to OSM and have a couple of questions regarding its implementation. I request seniors to help me out with these.

1. How is OSM implemented? (Any links or whitepaper). It seems that OSM is divided into tiles and each tile has some map data. Now let us assume that i am completely zoomed in and i can see one map tile, now when i zoom out, and i see area worth 4 tiles, are these 4 tiles that are loaded or there is one tile that represents these four tiles at that zoom level.

2. If i have to implement a tool which while updating the tiles that i have locally cached, how should i know which of the tiles have been recently changed.
    If there exists already a software (open source) that does that, please let me know how (or link to it) ? (jtile downloader downloads all the tiles, even if they are not updated)

I will be highly obliged.

Thanks.
Sid

Start looking in the OSM wiki here:
http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Develop

for more information you can also sign up the OSM mailing lists in (general talk or DEV) and ask there more details (because most of the developers are more present at the mailing lista rather than here in the forums)

Hi Sid,

I will explain a little bit of how OpenStreetMap is built.
I write this so that others also (hopefully) can find this.

When looking at the map at the first page (which is rendered by a program such as Mapnik or Osmarenderer) the map is served in a form as tiles.
At the most out-zoomed level one tile covers the whole earth. The (standard) Mapnik layers zoom-levels goes from 0 to 18, at each zoom-level a tile is divided in four to the next level.

The tiles are frequently updated, I do not know exactly how the server does determine when to update a tile, but I do know that if a tile that you see is older than 7 days; it is sent to a renderque regardless if it has been updated or not.