Updates submitted and closed simultaneously?

My apologies if this is a FAQ, but I didn’t find it (please point me if necessary).

I made some updates on Sept 12 to maps in my area:

I’ve not yet seen evidence of them in my Android OSMand app, but that might be due to their update schedule (and I’ll ask them about that).

However, the reason for this post is, when I look at the update in OSM online, I see the submission and closure date / time are exactly the same. For example:

image

But when I log into OSM and check the edit it’s there (it was 50 MPH before my edit):

image

So did I submit these edits properly or were they immediately closed (and do I need to do something)?

I haven’t figured out how to view the speed limit on OSM web, and I’m not in my vehicle at the moment to drive it and check OSMand.

Thanks.

It usually takes three requests to the server to send edits to OSM:

  1. Request to receive a new ID of the changeset. At this point, the date when the changeset was opened is remembered.
  2. Request to send changes. The editor in the browser sends changes to all objects in one request. But there are editors (StreetComplete, Organic Maps, …) that send changes to a single object.
  3. Request to close the changeset. A request that says you will no longer upload new changes. For subsequent edits, you need to open a new changeset. At this point, the closing date of the changeset is saved.

With a good Internet connection, all three requests can be completed in one second, and the opening and closing times will be exactly the same.

Moreover, if for some reason the editor does not close the changeset itself, the server will close it an hour after the last upload of the objects.


To summarize, don’t worry about these terms. This is a technical detail that exists for historical reasons.

OsmAnd’s maps are updated once a month. But if you are an OSM cartographer, then you can enable Live updates and receive changes every hour: Maps & Resources | OsmAnd

“Closed” here just means that the specific changeset was finalised at that point rather than held open for further edits. It’s quite normal. Your edits look fine and you don’t need to do any more.

OsmAnd typically updates once a month or so unless you have it set up for live updates (either by paying or as a regular OSM contributor).

Thanks all, I’ll be patient. :smiley: