Tiger Data

Hi all. I am a newbie developer and am just getting my feet wet by parsing the OSM database. 130GB of XML text was a fun challenge.

I have been using the Tiger database. The 2008 Tiger data looks really good except where it is totally messed up due to some massive database error over at the US Census. Where it is not messed up I notice that it can be a lot more detailed than the OSM data in the same area. The road I live on has at least 30 points in Tiger and 2 in OSM for example. As I understand it, OSM in the US was originally based on the Tiger data. Does this mean that the Tiger database has since be greatly upgraded or did the process of importing Tiger into OSM cause a lot of data to be lost? Is there any plans to use the higher precision Tiger data in the future (like after they have fixed the data base problems in 2009 and 2010?)

-Mark Granger

More points doesn’t make things better, it can be redundant data, can you give an example of what your describing?

I was in the process of locating an online Tiger map data viewer when I answered my own question. The Tiger viewer I located on the tiger.census.gov page displays 1998 Tiger/Line data. It precisely matches the OSM data for the area around my home. This means that OSM is based on an earlier version of the Tiger data.