Svg?!

hi guys,
i’m completely new to the whole map thing and so maybe it’s a dumb question. i have a .svg file of a map of germany with all the boundaries of the area codes. now i put the openstreetmap in a website and i want to overlay this map with the whole area code .svg file. i read that it is possible to use a .svg file as an overlay but i couldn’t understand how!
does anybody have an idea?!
thanks a lot!

I could not find a way to load an SVG directly in OpenLayers but you can convert SVG to GML and load that file into OpenLayers

overlay = new OpenLayers.Layer.GML("GML layer", filename, 
                    {
                        projection: map.displayProjection,
                        format: OpenLayers.Format.GML,
                        formatOptions: {
                                extractStyles: true,
                                extractAttributes: true
                        }
                    }
    );

hi lambertus,
thanks for your quick answer. I will immediately try this! :slight_smile:
Thanks a lot!

too bad. now it’s giving me a “layer.div undefined” error in the openlayers.js. i tried another version, but it didn’t work either. i have to figure it out with a javascript crack.

Errors in OL often occur because of a syntax error in your own javascript code. I find Firefox with the Firebug plugin helpful in debugging stuff like this.

Hi Lambertus,
thank you for the suggestion. I could fix the errors with the help of Firebug and WebDeveloper’s Toolbar!
It seems, the .svg is loaded correctly. It is shown in the LayerSwitcher, but I can’t see it in the window.
Another question is: How can I make sure it has the same size??
I’ve read somewhere, that the points describing each path in the .svg are GeoPoints because the shape file is a real map.
This is my code:

function init(){

var lat = 51.227069; <!-- sets the viewpoint latitude - generated out of users address -->