State Boundary Incorrect

Hello,
I want to apologize if this is something that’s already known to the community; I’m new to OpenStreetMap. I have been correcting names and geographies in my area recently and found that the Pennsylvania/West Virginia state line is about 350-400 feet north of the actual border. Is that correctable?

Thanks

According to a note on the border boundary, the National Geodedic Survey finds the east-west portion of the Mason-Dixon line precisely at latitude 39.7222206 . I’m not an expert, but I believe that this would define the PA-WV boundary. According to that measure, the western edge of PA-WV is pretty close; within 1 Meter. And the eastern edge of PA-WV would actually move further north by about 130 Meters.

Newer and better data is available for most state boundaries, but since it’s so advanced and laborious, not many have been updated. Consider this an advanced operation. Feel free to open a “Note” in OSM on the map, and someone will eventually look at it. But if you want to get into the details, here are some things to watch for:

In some cases, roads have been incorrectly bound to administrative boundaries. When changing an administrative boundary, be sure that the roads remain connected and follow the view in Bing imagery or GPS tracks.
The PA-WV boundaries have been optimized so that a single line defines county and state lines. This should not cause any problems but is something to be aware of.

I read a bit more about the Mason-Dixon line - the line may not be a straight line, but is marked by crownstones. In some cases, the latest TIGER data is based on precise survey data, but may vary from county to county.