Should I upload 500+ GPS tracks I have record during hiking?

Hello,

I am new to OpenStreeMap so please be gentle with me…

I have record more than 500 GPS tracks (GPX files) during my hiking. Most of them are in Wallonia (South part of Belgium), but also in France, Spain, Portugal, Ireland.

Each time I record a new track, I use it to edit OpenStreeMap to add missing items. My hikes are mainly in the countryside and in the woods, so I often find paths and trails missing. So far so good.

Should I upload those tracks to OpenStreetMap? Will this be useful? How can I do that automatically? (Uploading 500 files will be very tedious and boring).
All my tracks are already there: https://www.wikiloc.com/wikiloc/user.do?id=53142

François Piette

Hi.

Yes, by all means! You’d want to upload them via the “GPS Traces” function on the main website, or possibly via another means to the same end (eg the Locus Map Pro app that I use to record traces allows upload to OSM directly, as traces). This puts them into a “holding area” of sorts, not directly onto the map. You or another mapper can then update the map using (among other things) your GPS traces - and those of others - as a guide. For a popular trail, there may be dozens of traces, the average of which should be quite accurate.

Some people have uploaded their traces - raw - directly into the map data, which I absolutely don’t recommend. Most data needs cleanup, smoothing etc, before it’s suitable for the map.

I’m a software developer. If there is an API, I can probably write my little program to upload my 500+ tracks.

I already do that. Using the web editor, in edit mode, I drag and drop one of my tracks and then I create missing elements on the map, of fix some misplaced paths.

I used to do it this way. It becomes a (minor) conundrum between your own recently-recorded trace, and the existing trail already in OSM. How much knowledge is embedded in the existing map data? Hard to know.