reykjavik is under water

I used the iceland map due to the small size to test the behaviour, which I observed in other, bigger maps also.
When I download from the internet (raumbezug) a map of iceland and show this map with garmin basecamp, the coastline shown is different from the real coastline. The result is, that parts of the land seem to be under water.
I tried it now myself, installed the newest version of mkgmap, downloaded from “Geofabrik” the iceland.osm and executed:
java -jar mkgmap.jar iceland.osm
The result is the same: Parts of the land areas seem to be under water.
Obviously I should use some options of mkgmap, but as a beginner I dont know how and which one.
Any help?

did you use the option --generate-sea=extend-sea-sectors ?

Chris

Thanks Cris. I tried it now, but this does not change the behaviour. Another observation: If in basecamp viewing the iceland map I press Ctrl G (=basic map only) this shows a basic map with the wrong coast line.

Which map did you download? If you downloaded or compiled a gmapsupp version and showed it in Basecamp, you will see the (very rough) basemap shining through the OSM map. Thats why it is likely that you saw water on the map, because the gmapsupp’s are (still) transparent and the basemap is not very detailed. With a experimental version of mkgmap this problem is solved. Try to compile your map with mkgmap-gmap-mdr-r2144.jar from http://www.mkgmap.org.uk/snapshots/ (this jar file must be put in the existing mkgmap directory if you use the iceland.osm.pbf).
Another option is to install the nsis version.

Hmm is this the same problem as you already asked in another topic: http://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopic.php?id=14485 ?

Thank you , ligfietser, especially for your patience.