Renderer limits means overview maps not useful in rural areas

I’ve been a casual contributing mapper for a number of years here in Sweden, and recently tried to up my game to make really high quality maps in the areas I live. I have a lot of local knowledge combined with very high quality government maps (already preloaded into the editor) together with Bing which today has much better alignment than a few years ago (still government maps are best on that). So good reference is there too, I have all I need to make a good job.

My areas are bit more rural, more nature. Villages and hamlets, small cities. Nature is prominent and naming nature is important, many old names but still in active use by forestry, wildlife goers, hunters and locals. I immediately run into basic issues that I’m surprised that they aren’t solved already, but I assume that’s because OSM is focused on densely populated places and perhaps mostly roads rather than nature.

My observations:

** Tagging bays and straits as areas work great, as the renderer gets and idea how prominent it is and it can make proper text sizing and they can be seen even if zoomed out if the area is large. Lots of our lakes, even quite small ones have sub-naming, and with these features I can make really good mapping of this.

** Tagging and naming areas on ground does not seem to be developed much at all, unfortunately.

** There is natural=peninsula so one can tag and name an area of varying size, but it doesn’t seem to render (unless I’ve made some mistake…)

** I can’t make an area to name hills or slopes, which is very common around here (natural=hill would be nice). There’s peak, but that’s only for point for the highest peak with elevation, so it doesn’t fit my purpose.

** Valleys can only be tagged as ways, but here it would make much more sense to make an area, as sizes of these valleys vary a lot, and the renderer need to know which one is more prominent to make sane overview renders.