OSM address search unusable in USA

I’m a long-time OSM editor who got away from it for a while, and want to come back. I installed some Android OSM navigation apps, and found them all to be useless because they couldn’t find my house.

In Nominatim, searching my address does find the road (http://nominatim.openstreetmap.org/details.php?place_id=7295959017), but it can’t figure out a town or city to associate with it. Legally, my house is in the incorporated city of Peachtree Corners as of 2 years ago. A point for this does exist, imported from TIGER before it was incorporated as a city with borders (http://nominatim.openstreetmap.org/details.php?place_id=418655). But regardless, my mailing address is “Duluth”, which doesn’t show up anywhere on the hierarchy. (Duluth is a nearby incorporated city, and is the preferred city name in addresses for the western third of the county according to US Postal Service.)

In OsmAnd, a city is required for searching, so without a city, I can’t find my address. (Telling it to search in nearby neighborhoods didn’t work either.)

Let’s try my dad’s house (http://nominatim.openstreetmap.org/details.php?place_id=48380691). This is more correct, because the house is actually in the unincorporated municipality of Keene. But again, the mailing address is Nicholasville, a city which serves as the county seat and the city name in mailing addresses for all of Jessamine County.

Oh, but wait… I’d already tagged the street with the city (http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/42057780, which has an addr:city tag). So why doesn’t it work?

In general, trying to use OSM in the USA is extremely frustrating. I want to help OSM get better, but without basic things like “find a point on a map given an address”, it has little value for me. What can I do to get these kinds of things to work they way they ought to?