Newbie question - uMap and alternatives

Hi everybody!

I’m just getting started with using OSM – not initially from the perspective of contributing, but the more I read about that, the more interested I am becoming in looking into how to do that, too. :slight_smile:

But for now, my question is on the usage side of things and probably pretty simple. I am looking for an OSM-based service that I can use to make and save my own maps – initially this will primarily be setting customisable pins and saving some extra information, but the more powerful the tool the better. I am aware there will be many – I’ve already seen this https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/List_of_OSM-based_services#Interaction and from a first look like the interface of uMap. I was really just wondering whether there is one that would be considered the “Go To” service for these kinds of things, whether it is personal taste and 3 people will give me 5 opinions, and in the latter case, whether some of you would be willing to share those opinions. (Use case would just be me making my own highlight maps, like many people make them on Google maps, and to possibly share with friends occasionally, nothing more complex than that.)

The other one from that list above I’ve seen recommended somewhere was FacilMap, but I can’t find much about it online – and somewhere on this forum (here https://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopic.php?id=50921)) I’ve seen Leaflet recommended – yet from my limited understanding and a bit of reading around that seems to be a JavaScript library underlying services like uMap, rather than a comparable service - or am I missing something here? (Disclaimer: Not a software engineer, so forgive me if this is a stupid question.)

Hope this makes sense, and hope I’m in the right forum – please feel free to tell me off if I’m not. :smiley:

Cheers!

Ratatoskr,