New to OSM and want to learn how it works and project mini plan

Kia ora,

Hello from Christchurch, New Zealand. I have just come across OSM and would like to gain a better fundamental understanding of it. Can someone point me to a good resource to check up and learn (video, pdf, etc.).

Also I work as a Natural History Collection Technician and handle lots of specimen collection data. With this data, especially older/historic data the collector would not put location co-ordinates and enter a vague area of collection.

For example it may be ‘Waimakariri River, Canterbury’ see http://www.topomap.co.nz/NZTopoMap/nz29623/Waimakariri-River/Canterbury which is a large river found in the South Island of New Zealand.

Unless the specimen is aquatic it is likely collected from the a terrestrial environment i.e. riverbed or surrounding forested valley. I think it would be neat to use OSM to create closed ways that can be linked as a reference a collection event approximately within the bounds of said way (as we don’t know the specific collection point).

If anyone has ideas on the best way to do this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Johno

Hi Johno and welcome to OSM.

https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Beginners%27_guide

and

http://learnosm.org/en/

are in general the best resources for general beginners (please ignore the introduction section on learnosm). But simply having a look at the intro built in to “iD” the in-browser editor and going out and mapping a few simple things is likely a better starting point than trying to read up everything in advance.

I suspect that the collection area data is not a good fit for direct inclusion in OSM, but you could maintain such data easily on a umap instance (the most popular one is umap.openstreetmap.fr).

Happy mapping!

Simon

Hi Johno,