New Tag for Mobile Gaming

Hi,
I am currently developing a mobile game which is for the sake of this discussion similar to pokemon go. I am heavily relying on the data from Openstreetmap to generate the objects for my game. Recently I was thinking about how some people where playing pokemon go in very inappropriate places, like for example the nazi concentration camp memorials or other such places where mobile gaming can be seen as a very rude thing to do. Naturally I want to prevent such events in the first place by not adding content to my game at those types of locations. As this reasoning applies not only to my specific game, but to all such pokemon-go-like games (which will surely appear more in the future), I think it would be nice to have a tag in osm to mark such places. I was specifically thinking about mobile_gaming=no.

As I am relatively new to Openstreetmap I feel kind of nervous about introducing a completely new tag and wanted to ask here first, if this was a good idea and if maybe such a tag already exists and I just wasnt able to find it.

Thanks for your help.

Regardless of the appropriateness of such a tag, it will be years before any usable coverage of such a tag was established through the normal OSM tagging and editing practices.

I guess you don’t want to wait that long before releasing your game :confused:

I therefor strongly recommend you to rely on current tagging schemes and create a kind of “blacklist” of features not to include for your specific purposes. E.g. any tags like:

tourism=museum
amenity/building=hospital
landuse=cemetry
building=office

Yes, that list will be long… very long. But at least it will have relative consistent results, and is do-able now. It would allow you to filter out at least some of the most inappropriate places.

We normally tag only what we see on the ground. Unless the place has a sign that prohibits mobile gaming, we should not map it.