JOSM Best Practices???

I just installed JOSM on my desktop computer (openSUSE Linux 12.2). I am an absolute beginner with OSM. Before I start downloading data and “playing with it”, I would like to have some idea about what expert users think are the “best practices” for newcomers. Getting started right makes things easier over time. The answer probably depends on what I plan to do with OSM. Here is a brief outline of where I would like to start:

I have quite a few waypoints and points of interest for central and western Texas that have been collected with a GPS or, more recently, the GPS on a smart phone (Blackberry 9300). Many have notes and pictures associated with them. Some are strictly private but others would be of general interest and should be shared with the world. Also, I have quite a few County (public) Road designations that do not show on current OSM maps. I would like to share that because the roads shown do not distinguish between Public and Private roads. Visitors do not want to trespass so the distinction is important and not obvious.

So the first “Best Practice” question is how to keep private information private and make public information public? Also, how do I avoid corrupting the public OSM while I am blundering around trying to learn? To begin, I want to work strictly offline until I am sure of the information and procedures.

Is there a “best practice” guide for what layers should contain what type of information? For example, what layer contains topo contour lines and what layer should contain street addresses or points of interest or satellite images? Can I put private information in one layer and information I want public in another and be confident that the private stays private?

Most of the routes or tracks I have are just waypoint to waypoint (is the OSM word “node” instead of waypoint?) instead of true tracking data. Is that accurate enough for OSM?