iD left button, JOSM right button, I'm going crazy

On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I use JOSM.
On Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday I use iD.
One is “right hand drive”. (I mean it uses the right mouse button instead of the left to do the same operation…)
One is “left hand drive”.
The next day I end up messing things up…
in fact it seems to have affected my use of any map…

What do the pros do?

OK I admit I am 57 years old.
If my difficulties are due to old age well then I suppose I should face the facts and get out of the mapping business.

It is amazing how long the effects last… and is quite distressing.

I guess I now know why I don’t use iD very often and stick with JOSM. :slight_smile:

But I’m a bit older than you so I guess I have a better excuse about “muscle memory” being hard to change on a daily basis. (I can’t count the times I’ve done some vi editor keyboard commands into a different editor that had no clue what to do with them. And I’m not a pro vi editor user, just use it enough to get by if I’m remotely connected to something that doesn’t have a GUI.)

Seriously, what is the reason for switching editors on a daily basis? I know I couldn’t deal with that even when I was much younger.

I love JOSM … except for that.
I hate JOSM … because of that.

If there’s any way to make JOSM map its buttons like almost any other app in the world, and get rid of that useless right-click menu that keeps popping up when I forget where I am, well, I wish I’d have discovered it years ago.

Left-click-and-drag ==> pan
Right-click-and-drag ==> select
Could’ve made sense.