How to prioritise multiple 'way' elements in osm file

Hi
I’m a relative newbie to OSM and am using the xml data for my 3rd Year degree Computing project. I’m having trouble figuring out how OSM differentiates when faced with mutliple versions of the same ‘road’.
For instance I’m using a sample area of central Brighton (UK). There are about four/five versions of a road (way) with the tag ‘Gloucester Road’. When rendering this map, how does OSM decide which is the latest (most up to date) version to use ( as more than one of these ways have the attribute [version=“2”])? So which attribute (or combo of attributes) defines the latest version?

Thanks for any assistance
MannyW

Just as a first pointer, OSM does no rendering. Rendering services are (by default) provided by Mapnik, which takes OSM data and renders it according to a style-sheet and various other rules.

Secondly, perhaps you could give us a permalink so we can see what you’re talking about.

Are you talking about this ‘Gloucester Road’ ?
http://www.openstreetmap.org/?lat=50.827322&lon=-0.140822&zoom=18

If yes, it is one road segmented in four or five different OSM elements (ways) linked to each other by a common node. When an application requests an element to the server through the API, it can ask simply the latest version or the whole history or one specific version (see http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/API_v0.6#Version:GET.2Fapi.2F0.6.2F.5Bnode.7Cway.7Crelation.5D.2F.23id.2F.23version))

Here, the renderer will see the four or five ways tagged with the name ‘Gloucester Road’ and ‘highway=unclassified’. It doesn’t care about the versions, it’s just taking the latest one and will render it following its own rendering rules based on the attached tags.

Normally, a single road is drawn in one piece but in your particular case, the road has been split because some parts carry a special tag ‘oneway=yes’ and the oneway is not always in the same direction.