How to import data from an xls?

Hello everyone :slight_smile:
I am new to OSM and I am trying to import data from an xls. file with supplier addresses. The legends of the points should display the names and addresses from the Excel columns.
How can I integrate the points?
Is it necessary to convert the addresses into GPS coordinates so that the points are positioned correctly?
Is it possible to give me a step by step process?

Thank you and have a great day!

Are you aware of Import/Guidelines - OpenStreetMap Wiki ?

Have you discussed this potential import?

Hi! thanks for your reply.
No, not yet.
I have permissions to import datas I’m trying to add on my map but addresses don’t appear in the right places. Is it because I have to geocode all of it before I import?
Thanks!

To put it bluntly, no, you won’t be allowed to do this yet. If you have to ask, you very likely haven’t been aware and followed the guidelines (including documentation, and discussions), nor experienced enough to do this with the required knowledge and skills. You still need to list out what your license is exactly on a wiki page, because you or them can get it wrong.
Please understand it’s very easy to cause damage by importing, including duplicating or overwriting accurate data. Please discuss and ask for help in your local community first.

6 Likes

As it stands now you do NOT have permission from OpenStreetMap community to make this import

Please, read and follow linked rules

Are you trying to import the points to the live OSM database, where they will be available to all users of the database?

Or, are you only aiming to display these points on a stand-alone map with an OSM background?

The answers you have already received about following import guidelines refer to the 1st approach.