Get all streets of a city - Proximity search using mySQL

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to OSM and I’m just playing around with a dataset of my region generated by JOSM. I moved it into a mySQL DB with the 0.6 API scheme using Osmosis and now I’m desperately trying the following:

I want to get all streets of a city.
AFAIK there is no tag/relation to determine this, so I tried it using a proximity search to get all nodes in a radius around a node representing the city center. Most of the time I looked at the approaches here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/574691/mysql-great-circle-distance-haversine-formula

What I got is the following SQL code that should get me the closest 100 nodes around the node with id 36187002 and within a radius of 10km.

set @nodeid = 36187002;
set @dist = 10;
select longitude, latitude into @mylon, @mylat from nodes where id=@nodeid limit 1;

SELECT id, ( 6371 * acos( cos( radians(@mylon) ) * cos( radians( latitude ) ) * cos( radians( longitude ) - radians(@mylat) ) + sin( radians(@mylon) ) * sin( radians( latitude ) ) ) ) AS distance
FROM nodes HAVING distance < @dist ORDER BY distance LIMIT 0 , 100;

Well… it doesn’t work. :frowning: I guess the main problem is that OSM lats/lons are multiplied by 10.000.000 and I don’t know how I can correct this function to make it work.

Any ideas about this? All solutions/alternatives are very welcome!

Have a nice weekend,

Chris

btw: I also sent this issue to the mailing list, but it seems like it didn’t get submitted (yet).

Why are you not using PostGIS? It’s ideally suited to these kinds of spatial queries.

Thanks for your reply,

I have no experience with spatial queries, but I’ll give it a try.
Is there a good ressource/example that handles this kind of problems regarding OSM data?

Thanks,

Chris

The first thing you’ll have to do, is actually get your OSM data into PostGIS. Depending on what you want to be able to do with the data, there are a few possibilities.