Correction Protocol

I’m new to OSM and am starting by trying to correct a few errors around my village. There are a few streets running through the village that are tagged ‘highway=residential’, but I believe they would be better tagged as ‘highway=tertiary’ and ‘abuttal=residential’. Is it ok to just make these changes, or could this upset whoever spent a lot of time and effort setting it to what they believe to be best? Should I be seeking to discuss the changes with the originator of the data first?

If something is incorrect, then it is fine to correct it.
Though if it is a tagging disagreement, then you should check the tagging guidelines first, which may vary by country. And possibly discuss it, ie on this forum or mailing lists, or contact the other mapper.

For the UK, see http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Key:highway and http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/United_Kingdom_Tagging_Guidelines
In the UK, the differences between tertiary, unclassified and residential roads are sometimes unclear, as they usually not signposted as such on the ground.
I would suggest something like this:
Tertiary - a busier through route (which is not an A or B road). It may the main street through a village, and the main route to the next village, or the connection to the nearest main road etc.
Unclassified - a more minor road, you would usually only drive along it if specifically going to a house beside it, it may be a dead end.
Residential - a minor road in a residential area, again usually only drive along it to get to a house, probably low speed limit.

So tertiary roads are more important, and usually wider relative to other roads in the area. Often two-lanes, whereas unclassified roads are probably single-track with passing places. Though in more rural areas tertiary roads can be single-track (as well as single-track A and B roads).