Correcting nature preserve boundaries

I am a GIS manager at a regional conservation nonprofit organization. We manage ~32 nature preserves and I’m currently working on updating our property boundary data for a couple of web apps. Some of our boundaries have been added in the past by users, but they do not align with our current data.

I have attempted deleting the boundaries, and the editable outline is gone, but a green polygon still appears in the OSM Standard basemap. I would like to have a fresh start to these maps with all of our updated data (our previous GIS person was more than a little disorganized and I have a lot of cleaning up to do). Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

It can take up to a few hours for some zoom levels to get re-rendered. If that is not the problem, you are going to have to identify the specific object. It looks like http://www.openstreetmap.org/way/403203567/history is one of the three.

In fact looking at this item, I do see that the only issue is the non-issue of lower zoom levels not having been re-rendered yet.

One other thing, in my view, delete and re-add is bad practice. You should edit the the existing object into the correct shape, instead.

Thanks for replying. I see that it changes based on zoom level so will wait it out and see.
And while I appreciate the notion of deleting and re-adding, these are only a few of our >30 preserves, and I need data to be consistent across multiple sites that use OSM, so I would really rather have a clean slate.

Using JOSM, if you have opened your new boundary in one layer (perhaps as a shapefile or json) and have the current osm data in another layer, you can select one of the correct boundaries and merge them in to the current osm layer. Then activate the osm data layer, select both the old incorrect boundary and the new correct boundary (that you have merged into this layer), then select ‘More Tools’ > ‘Replace Geometry’. This method will retain the history of the boundary.