Can I use OpenStreetMap for my community lockdown wellbeing project?

Hello,
I am a member of a small community tree planting group in Seaford, Sussex, UK. During lockdown, we’d like to get our group members and others in the town involved in a project to map green corridors in our town during their daily walks. Potentially, we’d like people to be able to record verges suitable for tree planting, record wildflowers, record significant trees, and create trails through the town for walks or green routes to school. The main thing is that it should be collaborative and fun, easy to use, cheap or free, but ultimately will have real benefits as this will feed into a lottery funding bid (already in progress) to enhance green corridors and plant trees. We’d like to be able to share the information on a website so people can try out the walks, add to the walks, add information etc.

I’m totally new to OpenStreetMap. Will it be able to do some or all of this? I’m willing to do the work and study to learn to use it and teach others, but don’t know if it’s the right platform to use.

Thank you so much in advance for your help and advice!

Hi & welcome,

OpenStreetMap is very useful for mapping a lot of detail, but some other things are slightly more ephemeral and I would suggest other tools which can be complementary.

The typical things I add in OpenStreetMap are the following:

• Trees. I map individual street trees (including saplings). In parks or other spaces I tend to try & have a plan because it’s often quite hard to be systematic. A useful rule of thumb is that one can map about 30-60 trees in an hour depending on how much information one collects. I usually like to add the species and ideally breast high girth (either in metres or with units explicitly)