Arena da Amazônia

Please improve the mapping of the Arena da Amazônia (map).
It looks intresting ;), but the current mapping/tagging implies holes in the roof!..

Thanks

We are already aware of this, thanks!

Indeed, we found about it just a few days ago. We have an upcoming mapathon where this will probably be replaced with an appropriate map.

The stadium roof and soccer pitch It’s a nice example of how (not to) mapping for the renderer. :smiley:
I just corrected the pitch, and moved the stadium tags from a point to the outer polygon.

It would be nice to have all entrances mapped and labeled…

Do you want to join us in our mapathon? You’re surely welcome! :smiley:

That sounds intresting.
If I can assist you from Germany, I do it gladly.
Where is the mapathon coordinated?

Best Regards
LordOfMaps

That’s great!

It is my first time participating on a mapathon here in Brazil, so others may advise you better than me. The current plans (and they may still take shape as we get closer to the date - which is just 11 days from now):

• it’s being advertised on the wiki (I can translate that into English if you think it is necessary/interesting for other foreigners)
  • we’ll be chatting over IRC as we run the mapathon
  • we might also use MapCraft to split the work

There are several topics we’ll focus on while doing the mapping:

• improve the map in and around World Cup stadiums
  • map touristic points of interest, such as hotels, restaurants, etc. (still related to the World Cup), hopefully also link back to mapped tourists points of interest from WikiVoyage/WikiTravel (I still need to work on that, it’s quite easy with a template that already exists)
  • map house numbers around those regions (this is still a fundamental problem in Brazil’s map, doing this this will give it more visibility to future mappers)

Is there any special up to date aerial imagery? - The bing imagery is a bit to old.