Add new parcels to existing state forest

My state recently acquired several new property parcels that were added to an existing state park. I wanted to edit the existing OSM forest that exists to add these new parcels. I have access to the state’s parcel data. How do I add them to OSM? Do I need to upload them as GPS Traces? Or is there another way to upload a small number of existing shapes? (as a ShapeFile, GPX, KML, etc.)

I’m pretty familiar with GIS tools in general and I know my way around ArcGIS pretty well, but I’m new to editing in OpenStreetMaps.

It is possible to convert other geodata formats to OSM format and upload them via JOSM. However, license compatibility must be researched first. We can’t import data with an incompatible license into OSM.

If the license is compatible, one option would be to convert the shapefile to geojson since JOSM can open that format natively. The new parcel polygons could then be copied to a downloaded OSM data layer and merged with the existing boundary.

More detail:

1. Make sure the license is compatible with OSM
  2. Make sure the data is unprojected and in the WGS84 datum
  3. Delete any parcels that you don’t intend to add to the state park in question
  4. Delete all attributes (fields). These are unlikely to correspond directly to OSM tags, and in any event, you will be using the tagging from the existing state park in OSM.
  5. Convert parcels to Geojson
  6. Start JOSM
  7. Download data from OSM in JOSM. If the state park is represented in OSM as a relation, download all members of that relation
  8. Open geojson parcel data in JOSM
  9. Merge the two layers (geojson parcels and existing OSM data). This just merges the two layers, it does not merge the individual geometries.
  10. Make sure that the existing state park and the new parcels overlap (unless of course, these new parcels are exclaves, in which case the process will be a bit different)