A Question on implementing OSM in Native Mobile App

Hello everyone, new here and pretty desperate to find answers, so I hope this OSM-family can help.

Full disclosure, I barely understand how OSM works with mobile applications as im not a programmer, we have hired an offshore development company to utilise OSM in a native mobile application for both iOS and Android using Swift/Kotlin. We are a small start-up comprised of my brother and I putting our hard-earned money into this project trying our best to bring it to life. I’ll try give the backstory and our issue, whilst keeping it short :laughing:

First I want to say I absolutely love the idea of OSM, getting away from goggle/apple or any 3rd party for that matter that doesn’t care about peoples data and privacy has become a must for me! I respect what has been developed here by keeping it open-source and eventually one day I want to figure out how to contribute back to this. That being said, trying to get a dev company to utilise OSM has been DIFFICULT! I’ll explain:

Our use-case is a bit more complex then others, without giving away our product, we obviously require OSM base layer to load on both native iOS & Android and not look 1996, so some custom tiles to make it sexy. But now the hard part is the ability to select a Custom route is where we are coming unstuck. Basically we need the user to be able to select street-by-street routes on our mobile app. The idea is to put in the start/end point and from there select each street from start to end that the user wants to take. The map will show the progress of the route as the user selects the streets. We have looked into the whole ‘snap to road’ finger tracing function and its a mess. Hence why we just want to be able to select a street at a time until we get to the end point. We do not require an actual route/direction turn by turn function, only the ability to create the route.